It was another great year for our journalism students at this year’s Texas Community College Journalism Association (TCCJA) Convention, which was held at Texas A&M University-Commerce on this past Friday, October 12. Students from both the college’s newspaper and literary magazine were awarded in more than 17 categories! View the complete list of winners below. 

News-Register, Campus Newspaper

First Place:
Feature Writing: Cecilia Lenzen, “From Pilot to Professor”
(Story about George Driscoll)

Second Place:
Feature Writing: Francesca Crawford, “Inspired by Literature” (Jared Westover profile)
Sports Feature Writing: Deanna Swindell, “Pursuing Her Lifelong Dream” profile of Savanna Barron
News Photo: Joanna Mikolajczak, “Children benefit from the AT&T …”
Sports News Writing:Deanna Swindell, “Just Doing What He Does” (Coach McGraw profile)
Editorial Cartoon: Rachel Walters, “Kiss Me, I’m Green”

Honorable Mention:
Column Writing: Riley Miller, “My Experience As An Intern in Uganda”
Column Writing: Heather Sherrill, “The Truth About the Semicolon Tattoo”
Overall Excellence Newspaper:The News-Register
In-Depth or Investigative reporting:Alex Kypfer, “More than just a game”
Website: North Lake College
Live Contest: NLC Team, “Layout and Design”

Duck Soup Literary Magazine

First Place:
Non-Photographic Illustration, John H. Cox, “Central Park”

Second Place:
Overall Excellence, Duck Soup
Non-Photographic Illustration, Irving Sanchez, “Dia de los Muertos”
Magazine Cover Design, Utsaw Adhikari

Third Place:
Non-Journalism Story, Charlie Hilliard, “Freedom’s Cost”

Honorable Mention:
Overall Excellence, Magazine: Duck Soup