2018-19 Blazer Common Book: Born a Crime by Trevor Noah

2018-19 Blazer Common Book: Born a Crime by Trevor Noah

The Common Book Project at North Lake College is a co-curricular interdisciplinary project that engages students, employees and the greater community in the collective experience of reading and discussing a common text. The 2018-19 Blazer Common Book is Born A Crime by Trevor Noah, a South African comedian, political commentator, actor, and television host of The Daily Show, an American satirical news program on Comedy Central.

Born a Crime is the story of a mischievous young boy who grows into a restless young man as he struggles to find himself in a world where he was never supposed to exist. It is also the story of that young man’s relationship with his fearless, rebellious and fervently religious mother – his teammate, a woman determined to save her son from the cycle of poverty, violence and abus that would ultimately threaten her own life.

View the calendar of events for the 2018-19 Blazer Common Book below.

SEPTEMBER
Documentary Screening: You Laugh, But It’s True

Tuesday, September 4
Central Campus, G401
2 p.m.

Lecture: Colonialism in South Africa by Dr. Roy Vu and Tracie Hernandez
Wednesday, September 19
Central Campus, H200
11 a.m.

OCTOBER
Discussion: Family Bonds in Born a Crime
Tuesday, October 9
Central Campus, A353
1 p.m.

Discussion: Family Bonds in Born a Crime
Wednesday, October 10
Central Campus, A353
2 p.m.

Various Events: Domestic Violence Awareness Week
Monday, October 22 – Thursday, October 25
Location and Time TBA

NOVEMBER
Lecture by Heather Hackman
Tuesday, November 27
Central Campus, H200
11 a.m.

DECEMBER
Panel Discussion: The Changing Face of Politics facilitated by James Duran
Wednesday, December 5
Central Campus, H200
12:30-2 p.m.

JANUARY
Lecture: Not Like Us: Apartheid and Segregation by Dr. Lynn Brink and Amy Smith
Wednesday, January 30
Central Campus, Room TBA
11 a.m.

FEBRUARY
Discussion: Identity and Code-Switching in Born a Crime
Tuesday, February 5
Central Campus, Room TBA
1 p.m.

Discussion: Identity and Code-Switching in Born a Crime
Wednesday, February 6
Central Campus, Room TBA
2 p.m.

Lecture: African-American Comedy as Protest by Dr. Malcolm Frierson
Thursday, February 21
Central Campus, Room TBA
11 a.m.

MARCH
Panel Discussion: The Economics of Social Change
Wednesday, March 6
Central Campus, Room TBA
11 a.m.

Discussion: Cultural Norms of Domestic Violence
Tuesday, March 19
Central Campus, Room TBA
1 p.m.

Discussion: Cultural Norms of Domestic Violence
Wednesday, March 20
Central Campus, Room TBA
2 p.m.

APRIL
Panel Discussion: The Change Face of Marketing
Tuesday, April 9
Central Campus, Room TBA
11 a.m.

Discussion: Cultural Identity in Born a Crime and Funny in Farsi
Tuesday, April 23
Central Campus, Room TBA
1 p.m.

Discussion: Cultural Identity in Born a Crime and Funny in Farsi
Wednesday, April 24
Central Campus, Room TBA
2 p.m.

 
Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.